CopyPastehas never been so tasty!

Handling Death: Ottawa Grief Counselling Doesn't Occur

by ismaelkennedy

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

In 1969, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross introduced on her book, On Death and Dying, an idea on how individuals deal with grief in the face of impending death. The book describes five phases that people experience when dealing with death: denial, anger, depression, and acceptance. She created this model after an extensive research of the emotions of patients on the verge of death.

But Ottawa grief counselling experts explain that there is little to no proof to suggest that individuals go through a linear or cyclical process. In an interview with Scientific American, Russell Friedman even said no such stages of grief exist and these divisions can not be really called phases at all. Rather, grief is just the natural response to the sense of loss. Yet, it's alluring to organize the things in particular stages and bullet points.

Stroebe-Schut dual process model

There is some suggestion that individuals switch over between joy and sadness, as explained in the dual process model by W. Stroebe and H. Schut. Individuals dealing with grief could move to joy and back to grief to help recovery from a grievous instance. Occasionally, you feel sad; other times, you feel happy-- and that's just normal.

Worden's tasks of mourning

Another possible model for overcoming grief is the 4 tasks of mourning, as discussed by J.W. Worden. In times of grief, you need to: (1) accept the truth of the loss; (2) work with discomfort of grief; (3) adapt to an environment without the person who died; and (4) go on with life. These activities aren't arranged in a specific order, but rather mentioned for the griever to perform.

The psychologist in Ottawa says dealing with grief is generally done by means of the 2 models mentioned above. It's difficult for people to conform to one, linear way of managing grief and different problems in life-- given that all of them are one-of-a-kind in their own rights. Yet, it's easy to see things as a set of different levels because "it tells a story," says social psychologist Carol Tavris. Counselling can help but it's up to the griever to handle grief at his own pace.

Check out the complete post on handling grief by going to the website at For information about the different non-linear and non-cyclical models of taking care of grief, you could visit the website at

Add A Comment: