CopyPastehas never been so tasty!

School boards in India

by jadiandevelopers

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

India has primarily following boards of school education, namely CBSE, ICSE, State boards, IB and ISC. Here we discuss in detail about education boards. 

  • Indian certificate secondary education (ICSE)
  • Central board of secondary education (CBSE)
  • State boards
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Indian School Certificate (ISC)

Indian certificate secondary education (ICSE)

The Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) is an examination conducted by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, a private, non-governmental board of school education in India, for class 10. It has been designed to provide an examination in a course of general education, in accordance with the recommendations of the New Education Policy 1986 (India), through the medium of English. Private applicants are not permitted to appear for this evaluation.

Central board of secondary education (CBSE)

The CBSE is a Board of Education for public and private schools, under the Government of India. The Government of India officially known as the Union Government, and also known as the Central Government. It is the most popular school board in India with over 9000 CBSE affiliated schools in the country and presence in 21 nations across the world.  The stress in this board is on application of Science and Math’s related subjects.

State boards

The Tamil Nadu State Board of School Examinationevaluates students' progress by conducting two board examinations-one at the end of class 10 and the other at the end of class 12. The scores from the class 12 board examinations are used by universities to determine eligibility and as a cut-off for admissions into their programmes.

International Baccalaureate (IB)

The International Baccalaureate (IB)is a non-profit educational foundation, motivated by its mission, focused on the student. Our four programmes for students aged 3 to 19 help develop the intellectual, personal, emotional and social skills to live learn and work in a rapidly globalizing world.

Indian School Certificate (ISC)

The Indian School Certificate (ISC) is an examination meant for the 12th grade, which accepts the students who have completed the ICSE examinations in their 10th grade. This examination is followed in many countries worldwide, for example in Scotland, the ISC examination is considered as equivalent to the senior examinations in the University of Scotland.

The National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) is the apex body for curriculum related matters for school education in India the NCERT provides support and technical assistance to a number of schools in India and oversees many aspects of enforcement of education policies.

Indian education has a period of five years of primary schooling, then five years of Secondary School Leaving (SSLC). SSLC is the 1st important examination that a student undertakes. It must be an end of secondary school. After completion of SSLC students joined PUC (Pre-University Course), for two years latterly it will be changed as HSSLC (Higher Secondary School Leaving Certificate). After completion of this twelve years study student may join their under graduate course. provides the information about all school details by category wise. For more information refer our website.

Add A Comment: