CopyPastehas never been so tasty!

Texas DWI laws: DWI With a Child Passenger

by anonymous

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

The harsh Texas DWI laws include a charge you may not be familiar with, but which carries a stiff penalty: Driving While Intoxicated with Child Passenger. Considered a form of child endangerment, being convicted of a DWI with a minor under the age of 15 in your vehicle is a state felony and the charges are equivalent to those of a third-time DWI conviction, including:

Confinement in a state jail for 180 days - two years

A fine up to $10,000

What’s more, you can be charged with this crime even if you have not failed a field sobriety test or a breathalyzer. The officer needs only to determine that you are intoxicated to some extent, and that there is a child in the vehicle.

Obviously you can’t argue the latter, but hiring a Houston DWI lawyer, like Paul Darrow, might help you avoid having a felony on your record. By disproving the drunk driving charge, an attorney can help erase your jail term and reduce the stiff fines you’re facing.

Paul Darrow has written about the inaccuracies of breathalyzer tests. Make sure your DWI Houston lawyer examines that aspect of the arrest as well as the field sobriety test and the probable cause for the initial stop. If you can prove that you were not intoxicated when stopped, and that the child in your car was safe, you’re likely to face less severe penalties, or, none at all.

The consequences in Texas of a conviction for Driving While Intoxicated with Child Passenger are severe and can permanently stain your record. Don’t go down without a fight. As a Houston DWI lawyer, Paul Darrow has years of experience in criminal defense, let him be the one to attack these charges for you. If you’ve been charged with a DWI in the Houston, TX area, contact Paul Darrow at 713-641-5300 or go to

Add A Comment: