CopyPastehas never been so tasty!

Overview of Central Railway Zone

by riyachandhan

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

On the 5th of November in the year 1951, certain railway zones that were owned by the government of India were put together to form the Central Railway Zone. These divisions included  Dholpur Railways, Nizam State Railway, Great Indian Peninsula Railway, Wardha Coal State Railway and the Scindia State Railway of Gwalior. The Matheran line is an important part of the Central Railway Zone. This is a narrow gauge line that extends from Neral which is a part of the Mumbai-Pune main line with the Matheran hill station which is a part of the Western Ghats located in the east of Mumbai city. This rail route has many sharp twists. There are suburban trains that run frequently and connect Neral with Mumbai’s Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

There are a number of well known trains that run on this route. These include Deccan Queen that runs between Pune and Mumbai, Pushpak Express running between Mumbai and Lucknow, Amravati Superfast Express running from Mumbai to Amravati and Hussainsagar Express running between Mumbai and Hyderabad. The Central Railway zone is one of the largest of all the seventeen divisions that the Indian Railway has. This section even includes the first passenger railway line that was built in the country. This line connects the well known Indian cities of Bombay and Thane. Work on this line was completed on the 16th of April in 1853.

The place where the headquarter of this zone is situated was previously known as Victoria Terminus and is currently known as Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus. The central part of the country is more or less covered by this particular zone. At large, regions covered by this section include Southern Madhya Pradesh, parts of Maharashtra and Northeastern Karnataka. Earlier, parts of southern Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh were also included in this zone. Because of all these regions, at some point, this zone was the largest one in the country in terms of its staff, area and track mileage. But later on, in April of the year 2003, some of the regions under this zone were used to form a new section known as West Central Railway zone.

Mumbai, Solapur, Pune, Nagpur and Bhusawal are the five divisions that come under the Central Railway Zone. The length of the route comprises of 3905 kms and successfully covers most part of central India. Central Railway Zone connects 477 railway stations in its divisions. Ever single day, more than 4 lakh passengers are transported from one place to the other by this zone. The different types of trains that help in doing so include the express, mail or passenger trains. This section is connected to other zones of the Indian Railway at several places.

We hope you have found this article to be greatly helpful and look forward to seeing a few of you join us
Tips and Tricks for Getting the Best Paying Positions. To learn how you can maximize your travel experience including tips for negotiating your benefits package, just save money on your next travel adventure , For all your travel information needs, visit us at central railway Time table and indian railways

Add A Comment: