CopyPastehas never been so tasty!

The Northern Zone (Indian Railways)

by pavanipriya

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

The headquarter of the northern railway is located at the New Delhi Railway Station in the capital city of the country, Delhi. This zone is one of the sixteen zones of the Indian Railway and is the one located in the northernmost section of the country. The first passenger railway route was built connecting the cities of Allahabad and Kanpur on the 3rd of March in the year 1859. Later in the year 1889, the line connecting Delhi, Ambala and Kalka was built. There are eight divisional zone in the Northern Railway. These are Allahabad, Jodhpur, Moradabad, Bikaner, Delhi, Ferozpur, Lucknow and Ambala. Most of northern India is covered by this sector of the Indian Railway.

The different zones of the Indian Railway were reorganized later and the Northern Railway took its current form on the 14th of April in the year 1952. It now has five divisional zones. The northern railway has a route length of 6807 kilometers. The Indian states covered include Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and also the union territories of Delhi and Chandigarh. This railway zone was created by adding together different railway sections- Bikaner Railway, Jodhpur Railway, Eastern Punjab Railway along with three divisions of the East Indian Railway located north west of Mughalsarai, a part of Uttar Pradesh.

Baroda House is where the northern railway headquarter is situated and there are subdivisions offices in the cities of Ambala, Firozpur, Delhi, Moradabad and Lucknow. On the 19 of February in 1986 is when this section of the Indian Railway first introduced the system of computerized passenger reservation. There are systems that have been introduced in order to help the commuters who have not booked a ticket yet get an unreserved ticket three days before the day of the journey. This system is called the UTS or Unreserved Ticketing System. Booking can be done from the booking counters.
There are several facilities that are provided by the Northern Railway Zone for the satisfaction of the commuters in this part of the country. Some of these facilities are Electronic Display Systems at stations, Reservation Availability Position Information Display, Interactive Voice Response Systems, Automatic Teller Machines and Self Dial Telephone Reservation Enquiry Booths.

The Route Relay Interlocking system or RRI which is basically a signaling system was installed in the New Delhi Railway Station to help enhance the efficiency and safety of operations. The Route Relay Interlocked System is one of the largest in the world and has been entered into the Guinness Book of Records. The entire northern railway zone has 40 Route Relay Interlocking Systems which includes the one in Delhi Main. India’s longest and Asia’s second longest tunnel is a part of this sector.

We hope you have found this article to be greatly helpful and look forward to seeing a few of you join us
Tips and Tricks for Getting the Best Paying Positions. To learn how you can maximize your travel experience including tips for negotiating your benefits package, just save money on your next travel adventure , For all your travel information needs, visit us at northern railway enquiry  and indian railways

Add A Comment: